TaVona Denise’s Blog

Time does NOT equal money. Stop selling yours to the highest bidder.

Posted on: April 13, 2009

We often hear people say, that time is money, but is that really true.  Let us take a look at that.  If I lose $100, could I make it back, ABSOLUTELY!  And then some.  However, if I waste an hour of my day doing something that is meaningless, will I recover that wasted hour?  The answer is no, I will NEVER get that hour back, and I cannot make a new one.  Why then do we spend eight or more hours a day doing work we don’t want to do with people we don’t necessarily care to do it with?  I submit that the reason is because we may not know another way, or other circumstances, usually FEAR (false evidence appearing real) fear of the unknown, ear of failure, fear of success, etc. are keeping us in the very place we don’t want to be.  The good news is we always have a choice!  At the end of the day do I want to look back on my life and say that I spent it doing the things I wanted to with the people that I cared about or do I want to waste 80,000 hours of my life a cubicle?

2 Responses to "Time does NOT equal money. Stop selling yours to the highest bidder."

This is just so true. But how does one go about making the shift? When do you take away the safety net of the “job you can depend on” and take the leap of faith….

First, that is a GREAT question and I’m glad you asked. All I know is that there is never a good time to do something as important, as life-altering as starting a new business or having a baby, for example. When I started my company, I was forced to make a decision. Stay and work under a person that got the promotion I worked so hard for, or resign. I would not suggest the route I took, because at the time, I did not have my first contract, but sometimes the best way to get over FEAR (false evidence appearing real) is to have no other choice. A few things I would suggest is 1) make sure you know exactly what your current outgoing and incoming expenses are 2) have a plan of action 3) get connected with some people who are doing what you are trying to do and willing to help (having a mentor or coach can help you stay focused and avoid pitfalls). I hope that helps.

Leave a comment