TaVona Denise’s Blog

The Dream Deferred

Posted on: April 17, 2009

Please forgive the lack of communication on my part for the past few days.  It’s so exciting to see dreams become reality!  My speaking career is taking off and it’s just a matter of time until I can fire my boss, who just happens to be me. LOL  Yes, I am my own boss, but I got caught in the cycle of trading my time/service/knowledge/skill for hours and whenever you do that, your income will forever be limited.  While I’m on this freedom kick, I want to tell you why I’m so passionate about it and helping others get it.

My grandmother (Mom’s side) just passed away this Christmas (2008).  I would say that the experience was surreal to say the least, because she’s been dead to me for about 7 years.  Now, I know that might sound strange or harsh, but my grandmother had severe Dementia which turned into Alzheimer’s.  She stopped knowing who I was years ago and we watched her become debilitated to the point where she longer cared to eat, walk or go to the bathroom by herself.

What does this have to do with dreams and freedom?  At any given point in time, you may hear me say, “a dream deferred is a dream wasted.”  I believe that with all of my heart because, you see, Grandma Gracie was so excited when she retired at age 70.  AGE 70!  She was going to hang out with her sisters, travel a bit, and so on.  She got to do none of that because of the illness.  Why do we wait for retirement and “the golden years” to do all of the things we want to do?  Tomorrow is not promised and ever if we make it to retirement, what about our youth and our health?  This is my plea to anyone who reads this to take the road less traveled; start living instead of just surviving and explore your world and your dreams BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE!!!    I will be ranting about this idea of retirement, how it’s fundamentally flawed and how to enjoy many mini retirements throughout life on the next blog.  Stay tuned…

Oh, someone sent me this link on twitter and I thought is was pretty helpful for anyone else who has something to say and is looking for people willing to listen: (Sorry, you’ll have to cut and paste. I haven’t figured out how to add a hyperlink to this thing yet)

http://www.dailyonetrick.com/2009/04/follow-fail-the-top-10-reasons-i-will-not-follow-you-in-return-on-twitter.html

Leave a comment